DECISION 29

Implementation of Decision 27 and Order 120: voting rights in committees for parliamentary delegations of permanent observer and affiliate permanent observer countries

The Assembly,

- (i) Considering Assembly Decision 27 on the European Security and Defence Policy following EU and NATO enlargement;
- (ii) Considering Assembly Decision 28 on the implementation of Decision 27: adoption of a set of provisional rules for the affiliate members and affiliate associate members of the Assembly;
- (iii) Considering Order 120 on European security policy fifty years after the signing of the modified Brussels Treaty reply to the annual report of the Council,

DECIDES

Provisionally to suspend the application of Rule 17, paragraph 1 of the Rules of the Assembly and to include the following amendments in the set of Provisional Rules for the Affiliate Members and Affiliate Associate Members of the Assembly:

- (a) to alter the title of the Provisional Rules to read: "Provisional Rules for the Affiliate Members, Associate Members, Affiliate Associate Members, Permanent Observer Members and Affiliate Permanent Observer Members of the Assembly;
- (b) to add a new paragraph A.5 headed "Permanent observer members and Affiliate permanent observer members" to read:
 - "(*i*) Those EU member states which in accordance with the Maastricht Declaration of 10 December 1991 have chosen to become observers in WEU or which should have been given the chance to do so shall be represented at sessions of the Assembly by a delegation from their national parliaments whose number shall be equal to that provided for in Article 26 of the Statute of the Council of Europe, i.e.:

Austria	6
Cyprus (affiliate)	2
Denmark	5
Finland	5
Ireland	4
Malta (affiliate)	2
Sweden	6

These representatives shall be called "permanent observer members or affiliate permanent observer members" of the WEU Assembly.

- (ii) Paragraphs (i) (a) to (e) and (ii) of Rule A2 shall also apply to the delegations of permanent observer members and affiliate permanent observer members."
- (c) to renumber all subsequent Articles;
- (d) to reword old Article A.7 (iv) to read:
 - "(iv) Delegations of associate members, affiliate associate members, permanent observer members and affiliate permanent observer members shall participate without voting rights in the enlarged Standing Committee provided for in Rule 14 in accordance with the prerogatives deriving from their status. The number of seats allocated to associate

members, affiliate associate members, permanent observer members and affiliate permanent observer members shall be as follows:

Austria	2
Bulgaria	2
Cyprus	1
Denmark	2
Finland	2
Iceland	1
Ireland	1
Malta	1
Norway	2
Romania	3
Sweden	2
Turkey	3"

(e) to reword old Article A.8 (iii) to read:

The first and second of the committees shall be composed of 75 members with voting rights divided as follows: Austria (2); Belgium (3); Bulgaria (2); Cyprus (1); Czech Republic (3); Denmark (2); Estonia (1); Finland (2); France (5); Germany (5); Greece (3); Hungary (3); Iceland (1); Ireland (1); Italy (5); Latvia (1); Lithuania (1); Luxembourg (1); Malta (1); the Netherlands (3); Norway (2); Poland (4); Portugal (3); Romania (3); Slovak Republic (1); Slovenia (1); Spain (4); Sweden (2); Turkey (4); the United Kingdom (5), and of the President of the Assembly. The third, fourth, fifth and sixth committees shall be composed of 61 members with voting rights divided as follows: Austria (2); Belgium (2); Bulgaria (2); Cyprus (1); Czech Republic (2); Denmark (2); Estonia (1); Finland (2); France (4); Germany (4); Greece (2); Hungary (2); Iceland (1); Ireland (1); Italy (4); Latvia (1); Lithuania (1); Luxembourg (1); Malta (1); the Netherlands (2); Norway (2); Poland (3); Portugal (2); Romania (2); Slovak Republic (1); Slovenia (1); Spain (3); Sweden (2); Turkey (3); the United Kingdom (4), and of the President of the Assembly. The enlarged Presidential Committee may, during the periods between sessions or part-sessions, provisionally fill the seats which have fallen vacant in committees with representatives or substitutes. These appointments must be ratified at the first session of the Assembly. The secretaries of national delegations and of political groups shall take part in meetings of the Committee for Parliamentary and Public Relations without the right to vote."