

EV2007, DE

Draft Programme

Conference of the Education, Science and Research Committee Chairpersons of the Parliaments of the Member States of the EU, the European Parliament and the Parliaments of the Candidate States

> 10 and 11 June 2007 at the German Bundestag Berlin

> > Status: June 6, 2007

until approx. 2 p.m. Arrival of the Chairpersons at the delegation hotel Hotel Palace Berlin Budapester Straße 45 D-10787 Berlin Tel.: ++49 (0)30 / 2502 0 Fax.: ++49 (0)30 / 2502 1119 Mail: hotel@palace.de or Marriott Hotel Inge-Beisheim-Platz 1 D-10785 Berlin Tel.: ++49 (0)30 / 220000 Fax.: ++49 (0)30 / 22000 1000 Internet: marriott.com **Registration and distribution of information** 2.30 p.m. to 3.00 p.m. Transfer by bus to the parliamentary quarter, Paul Löbe Building (South Entrance); **Paul-Löbe-Allee** until 3.00 p.m. Possibly individual arrival of the Chairpersons in the parliamentary quarter and registration Location: Paul Löbe Building, South Entrance, Paul-Löbe-Allee, 11011 Berlin 3.30 p.m. Welcome by the Vice-President of the German Bundestag Gerda Hasselfeldt, Member of the Bundestag 3.40 p.m. Welcome and introduction to the Conference by the Chairwoman of the Committee on Education, Research and Technology Assessment Ulla Burchardt, Member of the Bundestag Location: Europasaal in the Paul Löbe Building (PLH 4.900) **Parliamentary Perspectives on the Development**

of a European Education and Research Area

4.00 p.m.	Technology Assessment – scientific policy consultancy for a knowledge-based European Research and Technology Policy
	Professor Dr Armin Grunwald Head of the Technology Assessment Office at the German Bundestag and of the Institute for Technology Assessment and Systems Analysis (ITAS) at the Research Centre Karlsruhe
	<i>Dr Gerhard Schmid</i> Former Vice-President of the European Parliament and Member of the STOA (Scientific Technology Options Assessment) panel of the European Parliament
4.30 p.m.	Contributions by the <i>guests</i> , discussion
approx 5.15 p.m.	End of the first part of the Conference
5.30 p.m.	Photo opportunity
thereafter	Reichstag and Parliament Buildings: History, architecture and art
	Guided tours in English, French and German
7.30 p.m. until approx. 10.00 p.m.	Reception and dinner at the German Parliamentary Association (Reception in the <i>Sachsensaal</i> , dinner in the <i>Bonnsaal</i>) held by the Chairwoman of the Committee on Education, Research and Technology Assessment of the German Bundestag
	Ulla Burchardt, Member of the Bundestag
	Friedrich-Ebert-Platz 2, 11011 Berlin
thereafter	Transfer to the hotels

8.45 a.m.	Transfer from Hotel Palace and Marriott Hotel to the German Bundestag
9.30 until 12.15 a.m.	Education – Research – Innovation Key to the success of the Lisbon-Strategy
	Location: Europasaal in the Paul Löbe Building (PLH 4.900) South Entrance via Paul-Löbe-Allee
9.30 a.m.	Opening of the meeting by the Chairwoman of the Committee on Education, Research and Technology Assessment <i>Ulla Burchardt</i> , Member of the Bundestag
	Keynote Speeches
9.40 a.m.	<i>Dr Annette Schavan</i> , Federal Minister of Education and Research, Member of the Bundestag
	<i>Dr Thomas Mirow</i> State Secretary in the Ministry of Finance, former member of the "High-Level-Group" set up by the European Commission for the assessment of the Lisbon-Strategy,
	Professor Dr Peter Strohschneider Chairman of the Science Council
10.30 a.m.	Discussion
approx. 11.00 a.m.	Break
approx. 11.15 a.m.	<i>Dr. h.c. Ján Figel'</i> EU-Commissioner for Education, Training, Culture and Youth
11.30 a.m.	Discussion

12.15 a.m.	Closing speech by the <i>Chairwoman</i>
thereafter	Transfer to Friedrichstraße (ship landing stage)
12.30 until approx. 3.00 p.m.	"Historic and political Berlin" Lunch and Sightseeing on the river Spree
3.00 p.m.	Opportunity to visit the Pergamon Museum on Museum Island (UNESCO world culture heritage site) – Guided tour in English
16.15 p.m.	Closure of the Chairpersons' Conference

Hotel of the Delegates

Hotel Palace Berlin Budapester Straße 45 D-10787 Berlin Tel.: ++49 (0)30 / 2502 0 Fax.: ++49 (0)30 / 2502 1119 Mail: hotel@palace.de

or

Marriott Hotel Inge-Beisheim-Platz 1 D-10785 Berlin Tel.: ++49 (0)30 / 220000 Fax.: ++49 (0)30 / 22000 1000 Internet: marriott.com

Hosted by:

German Bundestag Ulla Burchardt, Member of the Bundestag Chairwoman of the Committee on Education, Research and Technology Assessment

Platz der Republik 1, 11011 Berlin Tel.: ++48 30 227 73303 Email: <u>ulla.burchardt@bundestag.de</u>

Organisation:

Secretariat of the Committee on Education, Research and Technology Assessment Committee secretary Andreas Meyer Tel.: ++49 (0) 30 227 32861

Contact:

Friedhelm Kappenstein	Tel.: ++49 (0) 30 227 33543 E-Mail: <u>friedhelm.kappenstein@bundestag.de</u>
Margaret Watts	Tel.: ++49 (0) 30 227 35345 E-Mail: <u>ma02.PA18@bundestag.de</u>
Julia Hamacher	Tel.: ++49 (0) 30 227 33669 E-Mail: ma02.PA18@bundestag.de

Paul Löbe Building, Room Number. 1.340 Platz der Republik, 11011 Berlin

Fax.: ++49 30 227 36845