Main navigation & quicksearch



Reichstag Building

The German Parliament

As Germany’s parliament, the German Bundestag stands at the centre of the country’s political life and is its supreme democratic organ of state. Since 1999, the Bundestag has had its seat at the Reichstag Building in Berlin.

In the last Bundestag elections held on 18 September 2005, 614 Members were elected from five parties. Parliament currently has 611 Members.

The Members elected Dr. Norbert Lammert (CDU/CSU) as President of the German Bundestag. On 22 November 2005, Angela Merkel (CDU/CSU) was elected as Germany’s first female Federal Chancellor by the Members of the German Bundestag.

© German Bundestag/Melde

Ausdruck aus dem Internet-Angebot des Deutschen Bundestages
Stand: 29.08.2009